The Word as a Weapon

I’ve been a Christian for many years I’ve read my Bible from cover-to-cover several times, I read verses daily. Why have I not memorized them, tattooed them on my heart, made them a part of who I am? The other day I was blessed to be part of a call with Mandisa. She was awesome, so down to earth & so filled with the love of Christ. She quoted scripture with ease, I was #Amazed. I need to get serious about getting the Word into my heart. I know that I know that I love God with all my heart, I know that I know He is my savior, I know that I know He’s my all in all. I know these things yet, I’ve not put His Word into me, they are a formidable tool & yet I’ve yet to commit them to my heart. Today that ends.

“But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord” 1 Peter 3:15

“God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God” 2 Corinthians 5:21

That’s a good place to start. That’s really all it will take. I will right those verses out several times, I will say them out loud, I will map them, I will even try to use them in a conversation today. They will become part of who I am. Why is this so important to me? Because I made a choice long ago to live for Christ. I made a choice (a choice because He is such a gentleman He lets us choose) to commit myself to Him. I’ve been lazy the last few years. I’ve prayed, I’ve read the Word but, have I put anything to action lately? I don’t think so. Lord, forgive me for my selfishness. Lord, use me, change me, make me the person You had planned all along.

We’re in week 3 in our Bible study of “What Happens When Women Say Yes To God” by Lysa TerKeurst. I’m changing & I’m grateful. I need to change. Not because I was bad before but because I want more. I want more of Jesus. I want to be the woman of God He intended me to become. Heck, this blog is His outreach, I’m not a writer, I’m a wife, mom, grandma, HR coordinator. I’m not a writer yet the desire to put the words He has put into my head & heart have to get onto … paper (you know what I mean).

The time for change has come. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17. Lord, this is my prayer, change me, use me, I’m all yours! Amen.

10 thoughts on “The Word as a Weapon

  1. WTG Stela, for someone that does not write, your words are so beautiful and true. God blesses you each and every day. I am glad that you are a part of my daily love for the lord.

  2. When the Word of God becomes a part of who we are, nothing in the world can keep us from being changed by it. You go girl! God is taking you to the next step. — Debbie K. OBS Small Group Leader

  3. You go girl! I am so proud of you for saying yes to God to this study, to being in a group, to blogging and sharing God, and to now comitting His Word into who you are. I just know God is going to bless you tremendously for this and also touch more lives and hearts for Him, beyond what you could ever know or imagine. This post is beautiful, as is your heart committed to saying yes to your Lord – because yes, you are proving he is not just your Savior. But He is Lord!

  4. I was also impressed with the way Mandisa was readily able to quote Scripture in her conversation with Melissa. She said that she uses the Blue Letter Bible App to help her study and meditate on the Scriptures. I downloaded the App last night. I, too, am going to commit to start engraving His Word on my heart! Let’s do it!!!!!

    • I’m with you girlfriend! Did you also see you could have to different versions of the Bible running at the same time on BLB? I’m reading KJV for the first time, I have the NIV right beside it to help me, lol.

Leave a Reply

