Hearing The Voice of God

I want to hear Him. I need to hear Him. Direction can only come from Him & it’s in Him that I put my trust.

I’m learning to map verses. This is when you take a verse & you break it down to make it more personal & get greater insight. Lets use Hebrews 3:15 NIV:

“As has just been said: “Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion.”

I read that verse & it touches me. But, now I’ll map it.

As has just been said {now, this is now}: “Today {again, it says now} if you {that’s ME!} hear his voice {God’s voice}, do not harden {don’t freak out, stay focused on Him} your hearts as you did in rebellion {hmmm, could He be talking to the teen in me?}

That made it more personal to me, plus I think the Lord has a sense of humor, why else would he create teens. But, that’s me mapping for me.

Today, I realized I could map a verse for someone else in prayer. Lets see if I can do it with the same verse.

Lord, you have said if we hear Your voice, we need to listen & not harden our hearts, not question You. Amen.

Love it. I’ve learned to look for 5 things when I’m not sure I’ve heard from the Lord. Is it Biblical, is it consistent with God’s character, has it been confirmed else where, is it beyond me & would it please God.

Hearing from God is personal. I’ve heard His voice, His actual voice a couple of times but usually it’s just a sense, a knowing its from Him. I think that’s why we question it so much. We want it to sound like us but can you imagine? Hebrews 4:12 ESV “For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” I love my husband but, I can’t imagine his voice piercing me to the division of … well, anything. Lol. My husband’s voice is deep, loving, caring & inpatient 😀. But, God’s voice cuts through everything going straight to my inner most places. Wow!

Luke 11:28 NIV “He replied, “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and obey it.””

I can’t end this any better than that.

2 thoughts on “Hearing The Voice of God

Leave a Reply

