Blog Hop? Already?

Most week’s I see the topics for the Blog Hop & my heart starts beating fast, I’m excited, oh my goodness how will I pick my topic.  This week?  Not so much.  I don’t know why, they’re good topics but, I just wasn’t there.  But, after answering questions in chapter 5 of Made to Crave & reading the beginning of chapter 6 I knew what I had to write about. 

 #DETERMINATION

Ya buddy!  I’m determined.  I have so many reasons not to take care of myself.  Dick needs me, I have to do my studies, I’m too tired, cooking, cleaning, laundry blah blah blah!  Who doesn’t have those things to deal with?  Is the whole world overweight?  NO.  Do they all have people to take care of those things?  NO.  I just need to do it!

I should be a Nike commercial … Just do it!

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your bodies.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 NIV

I suddenly see a girl in black yoga pants, pink top & the cutest pair of pink & black shoes running.  Hey!  That’s MY workout outfit!  I’m working out!  I’m kicking my own butt! 

My eating … hmmmm.  I need to remember that a temple is sacred.  My body is sacred because, it’s not really mine.  I’ve given myself, all that I love, all that I own to my Savior.  He takes much better care of everyone than I do (& trust me, I’m not modest).  I need to trust Him to take care of my nutrition, I need to make Him the object of my cravings.  I need to know that I know that He cares for me & He cares about my health.  I don’t need Devine healing (it would be nice to wake up & be a size 8 but, no).  I don’t need to become obsessed with my workouts & my nutrition.  I NEED TO MAKE GOD MY ALL-IN-ALL!!  I can say it, I think I mean it until … someone upsets me – chocolate, give me chocolate, until I feel I’m behind – chips, I need chips.   Hmmmm, definitely a pattern.  I need to turn to my Savior when those things happen, I need to open His Word & read the truth.

Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared.  This day is holy to our Lord.  Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.”  Nehemiah 8:10 NIV

I did a search for “The joy of the Lord is mine” (I can never remember book # & verse).  Nehemiah 8:10 was the first verse that popped up.  I will enjoy CHOICE food & sweet drinks (thank You Jesus for sugar-free Starbucks).  I will enjoy in moderation, I will pray & read His Word before I just wander to the pantry for junk.  God cares about my eating, He loves me.  I worry about my kids having the same weight issues I do so, imagine how much more God cares.

God creator of all cares about me.

5 thoughts on “Blog Hop? Already?

  1. Thank you for sharing your blog with us. Determination is what we all need as we strive to take care of our bodies by watching what we put in our mouths. Crave God more and be empowered by Him to make the right choices .
    Marilyn (OBS Group Leader)

  2. I love that you posted the verse from Nehemiah! I am doing another Bible study with my church on Nehemiah…and it fits so perfectly with the Made to Crave study! Thanks for sharing this week! fortheirtenderhearts.com

  3. Stela, I totally get this! My enthusiasm waned this week, too. Hence the word this week: determination. For to determine to continue means even when the feeling to do it, or the excuses to leave it alone, come…we keep pressing forward. To breakthough a threshold, force must be exerted. We can’t just knock lightly and hope we’ll get through…no, we need to press on toward the mark Jesus has given us: our health and strength in Him!

    Press on sweet sister! With Him, we got this and can progress daily because he has us – even if the steps are minutely small one day (or even in successive days in a row)!

  4. Thank you for posting! I found it helpful and feel like we are having the same battle. I found moderation, and portion size to be one of my goals. When I want sweet or chocolate, I’ve been eating about 20 craisins or raisins, instead of dessert.. When I want salty, I’ve been eating a few olives, instead of chips. Hang in there, #determination

Leave a Reply

