A Calling

A calling.  You know that feeling?  When you feel God is saying He wants you to go into the world & do something?  But, you question yourself.  Is this really God or is it me wishful thinking.  Like when I was a kid (this morning) singing in front of the bathroom mirror imagining a stadium full of people, lol.  Thank goodness that’s not my calling.

2 Peter 1:10-11 ESV - Therefore, brothers, be all the more diligent to make your calling and election sure, for if you practice these qualities you will never fall. For in this way there will be richly provided for you an entrance into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

“Make your calling & election sure” I think that’s where I’m stuck.  It feels so real in my heart, I’ve dreamt about it but, how?  How do I go & do it?  I know … you wonder the same things.  God has called each of us to a time, a season.  The cool part is we don’t have to know how, we just need to have faith.  If God has called us to it, He will bring us through it.  I never thought I would be involved in a ministry like Proverbs 31 Ministries.  I never thought I would be teaching others about leading women to Christ.  I thought I would teach children’s church forever.  But, God (I love that phrase).  But, God had a better plan.  He drew me through a desert, made my faith grow, made me more dependent on Him.  He prepared me.  The only thing I did was lean on Him.  I stayed in faith, I stayed in prayer.  That’s it.  Can it really be that simple?  YES.

Galatians 3:6-9 Consider Abraham: “He believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness.” Understand, then, that those who believe are children of Abraham.  The Scripture foresaw that God would justify the Gentiles by faith, and announced the gospel in advance to Abraham: “All nations will be blessed through you.” So those who have faith are blessed along with Abraham, the man of faith.

I believe God.  That Man doesn’t lie. Because I believe His Word, because I have faith, I am righteous. Righteous people have callings. I’ve been called!

Matthew 6:33 But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you as well.

I’m still not sure about this specific calling but I’m sure that my God has a better plan than me. I have faith & that faith tells me when the time is right it will happen. I just have to wait (can you hear my foot tapping?). 😉  Yep, I still need to work on patience.  Lol.

Leave a Reply

