Purposeful 

There’s so much to do & no energy to do it. Know what I mean? It’s the holidays & I have a list a mile long & most of it has nothing to do with the holidays. Sigh. I’m tired just thinking about it. 

That list of mine won’t get done without my Savior. I’m practicing goal setting this year. My word for 2016 is PURPOSEFUL. That’s going to be a bit of a stretch for me. I like just going with the flow, seeing what God has planned for me. But, I have a lot of responsibilities too & they feel like they are piling up. 

Some things in life need to be done purposefully. I read my Bible, I pray, those 2 things don’t usually just happen. I stop & make time. When I start my day that way I tend to have a better day. So, why don’t I start every day that way? Cause, I’m human, selfish, too busy. It’s all about the choices, about being purposeful. 

I have to choose to read my Bible & talk to God first. Then the rest of my day can get organized. Bible study, exercise, eating healthy, work, household … it always comes back to housework, lol. 

Every day, every second of every day we make choices. Why not choose to let Jesus be your first seconds? Let Him organize your day. He’s much smarter than us, He knows the plans He has for us.

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.” ‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11-13‬ ‭NASB‬‬


My life verse is also very purposeful. I’ve read it for years, I have it memorized yet, today is the day I realize how purposeful it is. 

 
“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” ‭‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭6:5-9‬ ‭NIV‬‬ 

 
So, for 2016 I will work with a written planner, I will make my moments count. I will be purposeful. I will love the Lord, my God with ALL my heart, with ALL my soul & with ALL my strength! I will live on purpose, WITH purpose. 

Leave a Reply

